Latest News for Philippine Defense

Albayalde: PNP reshuffle to ensure officials hold ‘right post’

The recent reshuffle in the Philippine National Police’s (PNP) top brass will ensure that the right person will be at the right post, said PNP chief Director General Oscar Albayalde.

“The reshuffling in the PNP last Friday is due to the recent and upcoming retirement of some senior officials this month. This reassignmeng is still based on the assessment of their performance of the officers and how they can contribute to the main thrusts of the PNP and is not of my personal choice,” Albayalde told reporters in Camp Crame Monday.

Newly-appointed officials have a month to prove their worth, Albayalde added.

Following the reshuffle, PNP spokesperson Chief Supt. John Bulalacao was appointed as officer-in-charge of Police Regional Office (PRO) 6 (Western Visayas), while Senior Supt. Benigno Durana was named acting chief of the PNP Public Information Office.

PNP Counter Intelligence Task Force chief Senior Supt. Chiquito Malayo is the new executive officer and Directorate for Human Resources and Development.

National Capital Regional Police Office (NCRPO) director Camilo Pancratius Cascolan will be taking over as director of the PNP Civil Security Group.

PRO 4A (Calabarzon) director and former Quezon City Police District director Guillermo Eleazar will be the officer-in-charge of NCRPO, while Police Director Napoleon Taas of the Directorate for Information and Communications Technology Management (DICTM) has been moved to the Office of the PNP Chief.

Taking over Eleazar’s post at the PRO 4A is Chief Supt. Eduard Carranza.

Also named in the reshuffle were Chief Supt. Rolando Nana, OIC of PRO-Cordillera; Chief Supt. Mariel Maniego Magaway, OIC of PRO 8 (Eastern Visayas); Chief Supt. Debold Sinas, OIC of PRO 7 (Central Visayas); Chief Supt. Ceasar Hawthorn Binag, acting director of DICTM; Chief Supt. Rolando Hinanay, acting director of PNP Crime Lab;

Chief Supt. Lurimer Detran, acting director of the Directorate for Research and Development; Chief Supt. Roberto Fajardo, acting director of the Highway Patrol Group; Chief Supt. Edmund Gonzales, acting director of the Intelligence Group; Chief Supt. Rolando Andutan, district director of Manila Police District; Chief Supt. Joel Coronel, deputy regional director for administration of NCRPO;

Chief Supt. Robert Quenery, deputy director of the Directorate for Comptrollership; Chief Supt. Amador Corpus, deputy director of the Directorate for Intelligence; Senior Supt. Allan Cuevillas, deputy director of the Directorate for Personnel and Records Management (DPRM); Chief Supt. Gilbert Cruz, deputy director of the Directorate for Intelligence and Police Operations-Eastern Mindanao; Chief Supt. Rey Lyndon Lawas, deputy director of the Directorate for Operations;

Chief Supt. Wilben Mayor, deputy director of the Directorate for Police Community Relations; Senior Supt. Celso Pestaño, deputy director of DICTM; Senior Supt. John Luglug, deputy director for administration of the  Criminal Investigation and Detection Group; Chief Supt. Norberto Solomon, executive officer of DICTM; Chief Supt. Arnel Escobal, acting regional chief of the Directorial Staff, NCRPO; Senior Supt. Madid Paitao, deputy regional director for administration-Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao; and Senior Supt. Rodolfo Azurin-executive officer of DPRM.#